Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom PSP review

Hakuoki has been out for quite a while now. They have multiple different games in Japanese, ported to the PSP, PS3, DS and PS2 and this game would be the first of the series.

Demon of the Fleeting Blossom is the first portable otome game to be translated into English! That is freaking awesome. I’m guessing they chose this title since it’s one of the better known otome titles though for me, I would have preferred them to do other otome games. Hakuoki is good, but it just doesn’t have much romance in it!

Anyways, I’m sure most of you have seen reviews/pictures of this game already since well, the Japanese version has been out for so long. But I’ll just write a little bit about the English version!

Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom
Maker: Idea Factory, Design Factory, Otomate
Translated and reproduced in English by: Aksys Games
Rating: M 17+
Release Date: Feb 2012
Price: $39.99 for Limited, $29.99 for regular

This game has been out since February and I’ve been meaning to review it but I just never got the time and well, forgot about it so that’s why you’re all seeing this so late on!

Anyways, the plus of this game is that…we get the original voice acting! YEP, Japanese seiyuus. No dub-overs (thank-god). That’s the best thing that they could ever do for an otome game or just any visual novel, original voice casting + translations.

The English translation overall is fairly good, I only see a few errors. They also include a dictionary of certain words regarding Japanese history so you can always look it up if you’re not sure what they are talking about.

If you’ve seen the anime, the storyline follows the game, well of course it would! Since it was a game-adaptation lol. It’s just if you’ve seen the anime first and haven’t played the game, which it was the case for me, playing it wasn’t TOO surprising. The prologue was the beginning of the anime and it pretty much follows it pretty closely until it starts to branch off in the direction of each character route.

I haven’t quite beat the game yet! Only played through Okita and Kazama and now, I’m going for Harada.

Anyways! I purchased the Limited Edition since it’s really only $10 more and I don’t consider really expensive as compared to Japanese games ( ̄□ ̄;)

The box cover is pretty and of course, it would be Hijikata’s picture. (He’s on the cover of everything).

Now inside the box, we got the game, the artbook and the ost cd
Yeah…nothing too cool. I wish they gave us something more than just…an artbook and ost cd. They even had a freaking poll to see what we’d like in the limited edition! -3-;

Here’s the game box! Pretty art once again with all the boys. Hijikata in the middle again…AND whoa, on the back! (Okay, I’m just not a Hijikata fan lol. I don’t hate him though)

The little booklet…HIJIKATA! The game’s not there since I’m playing it. I didn’t want to take it out since uh, I’m in the middle of some part lol

This is the OST CD with just music of the game. There’s like…shoot, idk how many song tracks there are. I haven’t exactly listened to it yet.

The artbook! It has really pretty art in there!

When you first open it, there is the character introduction. I didn’t want to bend the book so it’s not opened that wide.
As we all know, this is the heroine, Chizuru! She comes with her default name but you have the option of naming her. I went with her original name. In the game, she’s not voiced, thank god or I might be pretty annoyed! I just don’t like Chizuru that much since I find her really useless. I mean, I give her credit for trying but she’s just so gullible and can’t do much to help.

Ok moving on.

For the other characters, you get to see their little biography + their picture + their different faces. Btw, if you guys didn’t already know, Okita Souji is my favorite character out of the series with second, being Harada. Okita is kind of yandere but I really adore him ♥ and Harada is just really sweet.

There are more characters but I won’t be taking pictures of all the pages.

After the character introduction comes the artwork. Illustrations of the boys by the artist

After the illustrations comes the different CGs of each character route. I think it’s all the CGs you will see in the game. I didn’t look through all of them since I didn’t want to be spoiled.

Yep, I’m biased so I took a shot of one of Okita’s CG pages. He’s so cute and I especially love the upper left corner picture.

So that’s all the the limited edition came with! Again, I wish it had more OR different stuff.

If you’re a fan of Hakuoki, you should definitely play the game since it’s really enjoyable! And plus, you get to go for your favorite boys! Rather than watch the somewhat depressing anime. Or if you’re just looking to experience an otome game and can’t read japanese, this would be a good choice for you as well! Support it and maybe, they’ll continue to make more otome games!

I’m hoping that Aksys will continue to translate more otome games. I hear their next approach is the Starry Sky series? Well, I’d like to see them tackle some other series too rather than just the ‘popular/well-known’ ones.

This entry was posted in Otome Games, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom PSP review

  1. アユ says:

    Lol I also have yet to finish this game and review it xD I’m really happy that they translated this game since I’ve been meaning to play this game for quite some time but was never confident with my Japanese.

    Aww you like Okita? :3 I like him too, but my favourite would have to be Hijikata |D So far I’ve only done Hijikata, Kazama and Harada’s route (doki doki) and I think I’m doing Okita’s route next😀

    Yes I also hope they translate more!! :>

    • xserenity says:

      Yep! I like Okita! Ahh! I like Hijikata too. I’m playing Harada’s route~ I haven’t gotten to far yet but yep, I heard its the dokidoki route! Which I am excited for.

      lol, I’m not confident with my japanese either so I’m hoping they translate more!

Leave a Reply

